The other week I was sifting through emails from brands who wanted to collaborate with my business. One company in particular had an interesting message that inspired this blog post…
When preparing to blast a message to a company’s audience it’s important to review the information before sending. I say this because the mentioned company above went ahead and blasted an email promoting a new product. The email seemed fine until I scrolled down to the bottom and there it was… a big, unavoidable second email attached below the person’s signature. The employee obviously had reviewed information from her colleague’s email and sent that same email to her contact list. What’s wrong with this? To start there was information in the second (thread) email that shouldn’t have been shared with individuals that do not work at that company. Also it shows sloppiness. Couldn’t she take 1 extra minute to cut and paste that information into a NEW email and then send to her contact list?
Simple yet powerful solution: Whenever emailing back and forward about a message that will be shared with a company’s contact make sure to create a new email and insert whatever the final message is to the contact in that new file.
It not only looks sloppy when internal information is shared with an outside contact, but it could also be detrimental to the organization. Thankfully in this case 1) I’m not about to use the company’s information and 2) It wasn’t super sensitive information, yet it still should not have been shared.
Have you ever experience a similar situation? If you were sent sensitive information from another company would you delete the message/ignore it/tell the person who sent it? Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below!